Anxiety/Panic Attack

I woke up, I’ve been in bed, sleeping since around 11:30, it’s 3am now. I woke up unable to breathe or move, my heart racing, shaking and feeling really panicked but I don’t know why. I mean, I do know why, it was an anxiety/panic attack, but I don’t know why it happened. I’m still feeling shaky now but my heart rate has come back down to normalish, and I can breathe again. It was probably the worst one I’ve had. I feel like I need to turn on all the lights on the house and get up. I need a glass of squash, juice or anything but I’m not feeling up to doing that just yet…. and I’m writing this here because everyone I know is asleep and I don’t want to worry them, but I feel that writing it down will maybe stop it from happening again. My jaw is aching where I’ve been grinding my teeth in my sleep and I’ve managed to catch my tongue at some point which now feels really uncomfortable in my mouth 😐 and I’ve got a bit of a headache (though I’m not sure if that’s residual from yesterday). And I don’t know what to do, I’m too awake to attempt to go back to sleep and worried that it will happen again. Maybe getting up is a good idea?

10 thoughts on “Anxiety/Panic Attack

    1. Thanks. It was really rough 😩 . I did manage to sleep later in the day but felt so drained for a few days after. I’m going back to the dr today to discuss my meds and see if a change needs to be made. Xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sorry. As if the attack itself isn’t enough, it has to claim the following days. Good luck at the doctor.

        Like

  1. Sorry to hear about that, Suzi. I hope you are able to get something to stop that happening again.
    Thanks for following my blog, which is appreciated.
    Best wishes, and get well soon. Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s very kind.
        (It might be handy to source a paper bag. Keep it by the bed, and if you find yourself having trouble breathing during such attacks, seal the end around your nose and mouth, and breathe into it.
        It stops hyperventilation quickly. We always used that method when I was an EMT in London. 🙂 )

        Like

Leave a comment